The freedom to marry takes effect in Uruguay

Today, August 5, the freedom to marry took effect in Uruguay, making the country the third in Latin America to end the exclusion of same-sex couples from marriage, following Argentina and Brazil. 

The first couple to register their marriage was Rodrigo Borda and Sergio Miranda, who registered their civil marriage in Montevideo today. 

The couple said today, "We are celebrating it and sharing it because this law establishes that we all have rights. There are no first and second class citizens."

16 countries currently have the freedom to marry for same-sex couples nationwide: The Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, Denmark, and France - while New Zealand and Britain have passed laws that have yet to take effect. Two others have taken regional steps to allow same-sex couples to share in the freedom to marry in parts of the country: Mexico and the United States. 

Learn all about the freedom to marry internationally HERE.