With final vote, France finalizes passage of the freedom to marry!

Today, the French National Assembly finalized the passage of the freedom to marry! By a final vote of 331-225, the French General Assembly passed marriage legislation. The bill, which extends the freedom to marry and the ability to adopt, now awaits the President's signature. President François Hollande has vocally supported the freedom to marry this year and is certain to sign the bill. 

Last month, Freedom to Marry founder and president Evan Wolfson applauded France taking critical steps toward marriage. He said:

France is poised to become the latest country where loving and committed gay couples can share in the freedom to marry, and it won't be the last this year. Like France, the United States extols liberty, equality, and fairness; it is time for our country, too, to end the denial of marriage and live up to our best values. 

It's been a momentous month for the freedom to marry abroad. In the past few weeks, marriage bills in Uruguay and New Zealand have also cleared critical votes and simply await signatures from their elected leaders. Greater movement for marriage is also expected soon for the freedom to marry in England and Wales.   

When marriages between same-sex couples begin soon in the country, France will join 11 countries that have the freedom to marry for same-sex couples nationwide: The Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, and Denmark. Three others have taken judicial and regional steps to allow same-sex couples to share in the freedom to marry in parts of the country: Brazil, Mexico, and the United States. Two others - Uruguay and France - have not yet implemented their marriage laws.

After the freedom to marry legislation in Uruguay, France and New Zealand takes effect, same-sex couples will be able to share in the freedom to marry in 17 countries. 

Learn all about the freedom to marry internationally HERE.